Can I download a YouTube playlist or a YouTube channel using IDM (Internet Download Manager)? No!

We have now a new website. We moved and updated all articles. The most important articles about the basics for working and specializing as a medical doctor in Germany and getting your German Approbation are in this page of the new website:

www.facharztjetzt.de/basics

We are now a commuity with more than 120 Facebook and Telegram groups.

• The main group on Facebook, be a member now: https://www.facebook.com/groups/438042273519578

Yes, you can download individual YouTube videos using IDM. Unfortunately, IDM does not support automatic downloading of multiple YouTube videos. In other words, IDM does not support downloading YouTube playlists or YouTube channels.

The following description is from the official website of IDM:

 YouTube grabber.

Internet Download Manager can record and download FLV videos from popular sites like YouTube, MySpaceTV, and Google Video. The best way of downloading webpage embedded videos from the Internet is here. After installing IDM, “Download This Video” button pops up whenever you are watching a video anywhere in the Internet. Just click on the button to start downloading clips.

Source: “Internet Download Manager Feature”, http://www.internetdownloadmanager.com/features.html, retrieved 10/20/2012.

Notice the green “Download This Video” button in the left upper corner of the page.

As a result, you need another program called Free YouTube Download . In a previous post of mine, I explained  how to use it to download YouTube playlists or YouTube channels . Recently, in an indication of how good this program is, this post has become the second most common generator of visitors to my Blog; 15.0% (1,010) of all visits to my blog during the last 3 months.

To download this program and to learn how to use it, please visit the following post:

How to download all videos from a youtube playlist or even all videos of a youtube channel?

2 responses to this post.

  1. well , install EagleGet (the best download manager)… it queues a complete youtube playlist and downloads them for you while you enjoy your time 😀 + it is all the way free to get 🙂

    Reply

    • Thank you my friend for your comment.

      I had installed EagleGet since at least 2 months. I did that after Google Chrome started preventing Internet Download Manger from handling downloads in it (I still do not know why they blocked IDM! It was a great program!). EagleGet has been an effective FREE alternative. Till the moment I read your comment, I did not know that EagleGet can be used to download YouTube playlits. The first 10 google search results did not seem relevant so as to teach me how to do that. However, after inspecting the program interface, I discovered quicly how to use EagleGet to download YouTube videos. I will be testing this program in the future.

      I have another FREE program that I use currently not only to download YouTube Playlists, but also, to download YouTube channels. It is called “Free YouTube Download”. You can read about it here: amanfrommoab.wordpress.com/2011/12/25/how-to-download-all-videos-from-a-youtube-playlist-or-even-all-videos-of-a-youtube-channel/

      I do not find a problem in that program, it is easily to deal with, and I think it is very hard for EagleGet to convince me to stop using it. I advice you to download that free program and try it. Maybe you will find it better than EagleGet. Firstly, it allows you to download YouTube channels. Secondly, in seconds, you can decide the video quality for all the YouTube channels and videos that you are downloading. Thirdly, you can convert downloaded videos into multiple formats.

      Try it and tell us! I think you will like it 🙂

      Good luck!

      Reply

Do you have anything to say? عندك إشي تحكيه؟ (Unless you are posting spam or using aggressive language, I will publish your comment whether I like it or not)